Abundance and Gratitude!

February 27, 2014

Last night when I was ironing I came up with a great (I thought) topic for this week’s Money Motivator. Did I write it down? Did I heck as like, as they say on Coronation St!! Do I remember it this morning? Of course not! I know that it was a slightly different angle  than usual but exactly what I don’t know! Since I had that significant birthday a week or so ago I get a bit anxious now when my memory fails me, I have to say.

Anyway, two of the “themes” that have been cropping up a lot this year for me have been gratitude and abundance. I guess it’s not unsurprising that they come up together so often, in that, in general, our lives are very abundant and therefore we have a lot to be grateful for. But let’s go back a bit and look particularly at abundance.

In the Oxford English dictionaries (online) there are several definitions but the one most closely linked to money (my topic after all) is this:

“plentifulness of the good things of life; prosperity”

Whilst this, it would seem, is indicative of material wealth, I prefer to look at it in terms of the really “good” things in life ie the things that money can’t buy. The things we should really be grateful for, the things that most of us have in abundance regardless of our financial situation. The things that can really make us happy even if we are not wealthy in the material sense.

For me some of those things are: Love and friendship, my health, the beauty that surrounds me, the relative affluence of the society we live in (although I truly believe that we must do something about child poverty) the availability of fresh food and clean water to drink, the clean air we breathe. In many ways the list is endless.

In turn this list contains the things in my life which I am most grateful for, and apart from food, they are mostly things that do not cost me anything.
I believe that it is really important to remember those things and be truly grateful for them.

They are what we forget about when we are buying more stuff,  or lusting over material things in our quest to be happy. I am not sure what kind of reception you would have received if you had tried to tell me this when I was at the peak of my shopping powers, but I still, more than ever, needed that lesson.

What are you grateful for? What do you have in abundance? Please let me know.

What do you think about this?

