October 7, 2013

528720_597478813595795_128959214_n

Two things are interesting me, in a money sense, this Monday morning.

The roll out of Ultra Fast Broadband (UFB) and a followup on an earlier topic, how much people spend on computer games, specifically Candy Crush!

Ten days ago the pavement / footpath outside our apartment building suddenly sprouted multicoloured chalk inscriptions and last Monday the arrival of jack hammers and lots of men in high res outfits confirmed suspicions; we are being wired ( is that even the right term for fibre cables?) for UFB. We now have lots of BIG holes with safety barricades around them.

I have no idea how long this process takes and what I have realised is that I really don’t know what the next steps are. I do know that it takes more than this process for me to have it here on my computer, but am I just going to be asked if I want to move up/ upgrade and who does that? Will all communications companies provide it? Do I need a new provider? On my first foray into answering these questions I didn’t find out but I must have asked a better question this time because I found out quite a lot more. At UFB.org.nz they publish a list of providers who “….have published prices in detail.”  OK so far, so good, but I’m not sure that I have all the facts and would like to talk to people who have already been connected. Have you connected and if so what are the real charges/costs? Please let me know and I will share next week.

Now to Candy Crush. You might remember that I wrote about the addictive nature of this game and how one gamer spent $380 on it. Anyway last week I heard a news report on how much the company, King.com, is making from this “free” game. You can play it for free but the addictive nature of it, encourages you to buy more moves or lives etc, so apparently it is now called a “freemium” game! In July King was reportedly making USD$633,000 a DAY!!! A month ago another report said that was now up to $850,000 a day!!  It is the most popular game on Facebook, Google and Apple and many millions play it daily…..obviously not all of them for free!! I could be in the wrong job!! Anyway, I reiterate my advice: be extremely cautious about spending “just $0.99” to get ahead in the game; those $0.99 add up to significant amounts of money.

Let me know your thoughts. Have you got onto UFB yet? If so how have you found it?

Come clean, do you play Candy Crush Saga and if so, do you purchase more turns or lives? How much do you think you have spent on it?

What do you think about this?

