Daily deals – too good to pass up or too dangerous??

September 7, 2011

I have been thinking about this for some time and, on Saturday in this article in the NZ Herald, Diana Clement said it far better than I ever could.

http://bit.ly/rdLMrQ

I have been thinking that if I was still an overspender, then these would have been just too much temptation for me.

I’m not saying that I don’t use them now, because I do. However I always make sure of two things:-

I  only use them for purchases which I would make anyway, eg for restaurants where I regularly go or where we have been wanting to go for some time. Now I can go and eat more cheaply or go with my partner and enjoy a cheaper evening out.

Secondly, I pay for them with my debit card not credit card and  account for the amount I have spent immediately on my Spending Plan. This means that the amount spent has to come out of the money I had planned to spend on eating out this month anyway.This keeps my spending  conscious and within the amount I had planned to spend anyway.

How are you using these daily deal sites? Do you keep them within your monthly spending or budget plan or do you find yourself spending more than you intended to spend just because it’s a bargain? I’d love to hear your thoughts and the way you are using them.

What do you think about this?

